

## Chaudhary Devi Lal University, Sirsa

(Established by the State Legislature Act 9 of 2003)

#### DEPARTMENT OF CHEMISTRY

## Pro-active/Suo-Moto disclosure u/s 4 of RTI ACT

## Situation of the Office:

The office of the Chairperson of the Department is located in Room No. 32, C.V. Raman Bhawan, Chaudhary Devi Lal University, Sirsa.

## i Officers/Teachers/Employees working in the Department:

Sr. No.	Name of the officer/Employee	Designation	
1.	Dr. Sushil Kumar	Professor &	
		Chairperson	
2.	Dr. Gita Rani	Asstt. Prof. & Incharge	
3.	Ms. Ravita	Asstt. Prof. (Contractual)	
4.	Ms. Deepika Rani	Asstt. Prof. (Contractual)	
5.	Dr. Neelam	Asstt. Prof. (Contractual)	
6.	Mrs. Deepika	Asstt. Prof. (Contractual)	
	D/o Sh. Dharamveer		
7.	Sh. Sunil Kumar	S.S.S.	
8.	Sh. Prem Kumar	Lab Attendant	
		(through Outsourcing)	
9.	Sh. Balbir Singh	Lab Attendant	
		(through Outsourcing)	
10.	Mrs. Gopuli	Peon	
		(through Outsourcing)	

# Dealing Work/particulars of the Department, its functions:

The Department of Chemistry was established in 2004 and is running following programmes under Choice Based Credit System (CBCS):

- 1. M.Sc. (Chemistry) 2 year Programme.
- 2. Ph. D. (Chemistry)

Department is making sincere efforts for imparting quality teaching & learning and carrying out quality research. Department encourages its students for quality education and knowledge for their employment. Department performs the duty of compiling annual performance (Annual Report).

## The Powers and duties of its officers and employees:

# A) Chairperson:

- 1. Hold meetings of the Staff Council at regular intervals, give effect to its decisions, and maintain record thereof.
- 2. Dispose of, promptly and expeditiously, all proposals/requests put up by the faculty in the manner required and/or prescribed.
- 3. Draw time-table for teaching and practical work well in time and allot teaching work-load to the teachers according to approved norms of the University, in consultation with the Staff Council.
- 4. Exercise effective control over teaching schedule and ensure regular class teaching, without any unauthorized absence and indifference.
- 5. Convene meetings of Board(s) of Studies as and when required, get their business transacted well in time, and maintain record thereof.
- 6. Provide necessary support for timely conduct of examinations and prompt evaluation work in respect of the courses offered.
- 7. Facilitate quick processing and submission of research proposals by the faculty and hassle free subsequent execution of research project on approval.
- Propose actions and plans for achieving academic excellence and enhance faculty interaction at wider-level.
- 9. Promote healthy work culture in the department, and conduct oneself in a just and fair manner, in the interest of overall academic growth.
- 10. Maintain effective liaison with the students in order to learn and redress their grievances and effectively draw them into the teaching learning activities of the department.
- II. Suggest and organize Seminar/Workshops/Conferences on the topics of contemporary importance.
- 12. Monitor and update the University Website in respect of ones Department/Institute on a continual basis.
- 13. Perform all such functions as are laid down in the Statutes, Ordinances, and rules of the University, or those laid down by the University Authorities.
- 14. Discharge such other duties as may be assigned by the Vice-Chancellor from time to time.
- 15. Verification of attendance of staff.
- b) Assistant Professors/Associate Professors/Professors has her duties to teach and guide/supervise for research to the students and to help in the administrative, financial and policy matters of the department.
- c) Sr. Scale Stenographer is to maintain the office record.
- d) Tech. Assistant/Lab. Attendants are to look after/maintain the laboratories of the department.
- e) Peon is to carry the files, dak and circulars from one to other officials/officers/teachers of the Department/University.

#### **Record of Office:**

The office maintains record of its files, students and other relevant works.

## Facility for information seekers:

The office record as well as information regarding the department is available in the office of the department and provided to the information seekers as and when so needed with the approval of the competent authority.

# Thannel/Procedure followed in the decision making/supervision:

Decision making, accountability and supervision is made by the Chairperson and the staff council of the Department.

# Warious Bodies of the Department of Chemistry:

# A) Staff Council:

Sr.	Member Name	Department/Institute	Designation
1.	Prof. Sushil	Department of Physics,	Dean, Faculty of
	Kumar,	CDLU, Sirsa	Physical Sciences;
			Chairperson,
			Department of
			Chemistry
2.	Dr. Gita Rani	Department of Chemistry, CDLU, Sirsa	Member

# B) Departmental Research Committee:

Sr.	Name	Institution/Department	Designation
1	Prof. Sushil Kumar	Department of Physics,	Chairperson,
		CDLU, Sirsa	Department of
			Chemistry
			Ex-officio
2.	Prof. Rajesh	Department of Chemistry,	Member
	Malhotra	GJUS&T, Hisar (Term for two	
		years w.e.f. 04.06.2020 or upto the	
		date of becoming eligible of any	
		internal member(s)	
3.	Dr. Gita Rani	Department of Chemistry,	Member
		CDLU, Sirsa	

# C) Post Graduate Board of Studies & Research:

Sr.	Name	Institution/Department	Term up to
1	Prof. Sushil Kumar	Chairperson, Deptt. of	Chairperson,
		Chemistry being Dean,	Ex-officio
		Faculty of Physical Science	
2	Gita Rani	Asstt. Prof., CDLU, Sirsa	Member
			(Term upto
			17.05.2020)
3	f. K.K. Bhasin	Deptt. of Chemistry, Panjab	Outside Expert
	(Emeritus)	University Chandigarh	(Term from
			13.06.2019 to
			12.06.2021)
4	f. Kiran Singh	Department of Chemistry,	Outside Expert
		Kurukshetra University	(Term from
		Kurukshetra	13.06.2019 to
			12.06.2021)

# D) Under Graduate Board of Studies:

Sr.	Name	Institution/Department	Term
1	Prof. Sushil Kumar	Chairperson, Deptt. of	Chairperson
		Chemistry being Dean,	Ex-officio
		Faculty of Physical Sciences	
2.	Sh. Virender Kumar	Asstt. Prof., K.T. Govt.	Member (Term
		College Ratia Fatehabad	upto 28.04.2021)
3	Dr. Monika Rani	Asstt. Prof., Govt. National	Member (Term
		College, Sirsa	upto 28.04.2021)
4	Dr. Gurcharan Dass	Principal M.M. PG College	Member (Term
		Fatehabad	upto 28.04.2021)
5	Dr. Rajesh Mehta	Principal Govt. College for	Member (Term
		Girls, Rania, Sirsa	upto 28.04.2021)
6	Dr. Sushma	Asstt. Prof., CMRG Govt.	Member (Term
		College for Women, Bhodia	upto 28.04.2021)
		Khera, Fatehabad.	
7	Prof. Sapna Garg	Deptt. of Chemistry, MD	Outside Expert
		University, Rohtak	(Term from
			29.04.2019 to
			28.04.2021)
8.	Prof. A.P.Singh	Department of Chemistry,	Outside Expert
		PTU, Chandigarh	(Term from
			29.04.2019 to
			28.04.2021)

Additional information may be sought from concerned branch/ office of the University.

**INCHARGE**